

Sons of the American Revolution Anthony Halberstadt Chapter

Jeffery Jones, President A. Ray King, Vice-President A. Ronald Kohart, Secretary

James Hamilton, Treasurer James D. Hamilton, Registrar/Genealogist Dennis Kruse, Chaplain

James Burk, Historian

Gary Stebbins, Sergeant at Arms A Ray King, Webmaster https://Halberstadt.indianasar.org/

AMERICA 250

Meeting Minutes
Summer Meeting 17 June 2023
Allen County Public Library, Fort Wayne, IN

Posting of the Colors (Pre-Meeting): Gary Stebbins (Sergeant-At-Arms)

10:00 Call to Order (President Jeff Jones) e Invocation - Dennis Kruse o The Pledge of Allegiance and National Anthem - Gary Stebbins • SAR Pledge - Ray King, Vice-Pres.

"We descendants of the heroes of the American Revolution who, by their sacrifices, established the United States of America, reaffirm our faith in the principles of __liberty and our Constitutional Republic, and solemnly pledge ourselves to defend them against every foe,"

- o Opening Remarks/ Welcome President Jeff Jones
- Introduction of Members, Guests, and Prospective Members o New Member Terry Smith received into the Chapter

Awards and Recognition:

Service Anniversary

- o Doty-IO year & pin
- o Dew 10 year & pin
- o Elzey 5 years
- o Stebbins 5 years

President Jones present Streamers for our flag

250th Anniversary of American Revolution

- o Jones Bronze & Silver Kohart Bronze & Silver
- King Bronze
 - o Daniels Bronze

Other Awards

• Eagle Scout — Brady Richman Medal, Certificate & Patch o SW Asia Veterans Corp - Kent Halberstadt

Officer and Committee Reports:

- Treasurer's Report: Jim Hamilton
- Secretary's Report: Ron Kohart
 - o Registrar's Report: Jim Hamilton
 - o Indiana State 250th Commission: Dr. Tom Whiteman
 - o Color Guard: Gary Stebbins
- Historian Report: Jim Burk •
- America 250th: Ron Kohart •

Service: Ron Kohart

- o Americanism: Dave Peters
- o Veterans & Patriotism: Gary Stebbins
- o Flag Recognition: Gary Stebbins
- ROTC/JROTC: Gary Stebbins
 - o Patriot Graves: Greg Stier
- Medals & Awards: Ray King
 - o Webmaster: Ray King
- Eagle Scout: Jim Burk
 - o Youth Brochures: Denny Wright
- Youth Essays: Jim Hamilton
- Youth Orations: Jim Hamilton
 - o Library: Jim Hamilton
- History Teacher: Asa Dunnington
 - o Public Service & Heroism: Greg Stier
 - o DAR Liaison: Jill Wright
- CAR Liaison: Benita Steyer

Old Business:

- o Items from past ExCom and Chapter Meetings
- Chapter Planning Calendar (see list below)

- Veterans Memorial Shrine service project
 - o America 250th Chapter Medals

State & National News:

NSSAR Spring Leadership Report (Jeff Jones)
 INSSAR Annual Meeting (Jeff Jones)

New Business:

e Color Guard Formation o Web Portal - Ray King reported on updates e Patriot Grave Marking- Date selection and committee volunteers o Motion by Jim Hamilton to spend \$300. for Ewing Grave Marker M/S/ P e Motion by Jim Hamilton to spend \$1200 for Marker for Barry, M/S/ P.

Program:

eLearning Video

•Shepherd's House Plan

•Founder's Day Recognition

Upcoming Events

- Chapter Meeting Dates: 2023 sept 16, Dec 02
- Indiana State SAR HoD Dates: 2023 July 29, Oct 14
- National SAR: 2023 Jul 15-20 (National Congress), sep 21-23 (Fall Leadership)
- Indiana 250th Commission: 2023 Aug 28, Nov 27
- National SAR Commemorations: 2023 July 22(Ft Laurens), Aug 19 (Blue Licks), Oct 7 (Pt Pleasant)
- Patriot Day -
- Independence Day July 4, 2023 Constitution Week 17 Sep to 23 Sep
- Veterans Day Nov 11, 2023
- Wreaths Across America Dec 16th, 2023

SAR Recessional (Secretary Ron Kohart)

"Until we meet again, let us remember our obligations to our forefathers who gave us our Constitution, the Bill of Rights, an independent Supreme Court and a nation of free men."

Retrieval of the Colors (Post-Meeting): Gary Stebbins (Sergeant-At-Arms)

Shepherd's House Processional, 519 Tennessee Ave.

This a service project — contributions will be received by Veterans housed at the facility.

Awards: Good Citizenship & Flag Certificate

Anthony Halberstadt Officers and Committee Chairs

2023 - 2025 (2 Year Terms)

Officers

1) President: Jeff Jones

2) Vice President: Ray King

3) Treasurer: Jim Hamilton

4) Secretary: Ron Kohart

5) Assistant Secretary: Ray King

6) Registrar: Jim Hamilton

7) Sergeant-At-Arms: Gary Stebbins

8) Historian: Jim Burk

9) Chaplain: Dennis Kruse

10) Webmaster: Ray King

Committee Presidential Appointments

1) America 250th: Ron Kohart

2) Americanism: Dave Peters

3) Color Guard Commander: Gary Stebbins

4) Veterans & Patriotism: Gary Stebbins

5) Patriot Graves: Greg Stier

6) ROTC/JROTC: Gary Stebbins

7) Medals & Awards: Ray King

8) Eagle Scout: Jim Burk

9) Youth Brochures: Denny Wright

10) Youth Posters: Denny Wright

11) Youth Essays: Jim Hamilton

12) Youth Orations: Jim Hamilton

13) History Teacher: Asa Dunnington

14) Public Service & Dreism: Greg Stier

15) Service: Ron Kohart

16) DAR Liaison: Jill Wright17) CAR Liaison: Benita Stayer